Rexburg school gets ‘Blue Ribbon’ award

The State Department of Education has selected Lincoln Elementary School in Rexburg and three others for national recognition.

Lincoln, and Garwood Elementary School in Rathdrum, were nominated for this year’s National Blue Ribbon Award, and Harold B. Lee Elementary School in Dayton and Murtaugh schools, in Murtaugh, were selected as this year’s Title I-A Distinguished Schools, Superintendent of Public Instruction Sherri Ybarra announced Thursday.

The honors go to schools that are both high poverty and high achieving. The Blue Ribbon Award is for schools that are in the top 15 percent of all schools in the state, ranked on reading, English language arts and math test results, and at least 40 percent of their students are low-income. The nominees will each get $15,000 from state Title I funds. Specifically, Lincoln outperformed 92.6 percent of schools in the state in its test results, increasing its English language arts proficiency percentage from 84.9 percent in 2015 to 98.7 percent in 2017, according to the department of education.