City announces mayor’s scholarship recipients

Fifty-nine Idaho Falls students will get more than $65,000 in scholarships from the Mayor’s Scholarship Fund this year.

The recipients will be honored at the 13th yearly Mayor’s Scholarship Fund ceremony March 28 at the Colonial Theater, according to a news release from the city. It will start with a private reception for recipients, their parents, sponsors and school administrators at 6 p.m., followed by a public awards ceremony at 7 p.m.

Thirty graduating seniors will receive $1,500 senior scholarships, six will get scholarships from the College of Eastern Idaho, and two from the Idaho State University College of Arts and Letters.

Twenty students in grades eight through 11 got the $250 Mayor’s Promise Award, and four seniors who are past Promise Award recipients got the $2,500 Legacy Senior Award. Kayla Tran, from Hillcrest High School, got the $2,500 Mayor Jared Fuhriman Community Service Award. This is named after the former mayor who, in 2006, established the scholarship fund in partnership with the District 91 and 93 education foundations.

“Our community is wise to invest in these promising young people,” Mayor Rebecca Casper said in a statement. “They represent the best of our future. We are very fortunate to have generous sponsors and terrific volunteers to make this scholarship program possible. I could not be more excited to see the number of awards grow to reach even more deserving students this year.”

Senior Award Recipients: Bonneville High School — Damaris Fernandez, Dylan Cook, Lauren Arfmann, Alyssa Villa, Kylee Rainey, Edith Morillon, Chloey Hall, Yisel Mendieta Chavez and Tycen Biggs. Emerson High School — Zoe Ricks, Brecklyn Sheldon and Allyson Boyd. Hillcrest High School — Garrett Corbridge, Camryn Giles, Taylor Lance, Tyler Taysom, Maddie Landers and Hannah Hale. Idaho Falls High School — Kate West. Lincoln High School — Jacob Brower. Skyline High School — Carter Josephson. Technical Careers High School — Sydney Nelson. Watersprings High School — Sydnie Eldridge. Homeschool — Zane Holliday.

CEI Scholarship Recipients: Bonneville High School — Dakota Mitchell, Raegan Landon, Brooke Waters, Victoria Price and Joanna Gonzales. Homeschool — Rocio Rojas.

ISU College of Arts & Letters Recipients: Bonneville High School — Tylee Eck. Emerson High School — Trevor Poulson.

Legacy Senior Awards: Kenidee Casper, Bonneville High School; Joshua Truesdell, Hillcrest High School; Lillian Reed, Technical Careers High School; Maria Flores, Skyline High School

A full list of the recipients is available online, by going to and checking the “News” section.