The Medal Stand: Hibbert to compete in Jackson

Tucker Hibbert is returning to his birth place next weekend.

The 33 year-old snocross athlete will be competing at the Jackson Hole Snocross National, scheduled for December 8-9 at Snow King Mountain Resort. He enters the event having won both Pro finals at the 26th annual Duluth National last weekend in Duluth, Minn., to begin the 2017-18 season. The Jackson Hole Snocross National is the next stop in the ISOC National Snocross schedule that goes until March.

Hibbert is originally from Driggs, where he began snowboarding at a young age. He lived in Teton County until age 12, when his family relocated to Minnesota. Hibbert has won 14 X Games medals (10 gold) and 10 national snocross titles.

Coming up locally

The annual Christmas Gift 5k organized by Bill’s Bike and Run is scheduled for Saturday at Snake River Landing. The 5k begins at 10 a.m. while the kids mile starts at 10:45 a.m.

Opening day for Snow King Mountain Resort is Saturday.

Team USA Updates

An eventful Skate America concluded Sunday in Lake Placid, New York.

Siblings Maia and Alex Shibutani won the ice dance title with 194.25 points, bettering their previous personal best score by almost three points. It was their fifth consecutive Grand Prix win since 2015.

Bradie Tennell was the top U.S. woman at Skate America, placing third with 204.10 points. It was the first senior Grand Prix competition for the 19 year-old, who won the U.S. junior national championship in 2015 and was ninth in the 2016 senior nationals. Ashley Wagner withdrew from the competition during Sunday’s free skate due to an ankle infection. She posted to Instagram that the infection was worsened every time her skate landed on the ice due to the padding shifting inside her skate.

At Killington, Vermont, 2014 Olympic slalom champion Mikaela Shiffrin won her first World Cup of the season Sunday by 1.64 seconds through two runs. Slovakia’s Petra Vlhova, who beat Shiffrin in their two previous slaloms, took second.

Team USA awards took place Wednesday night in Los Angeles. Among the winners at press time were Katie Ledecky (Female Olympic Athlete of the Year), Mikey Brannigan (Male Paralympic Athlete of the Year), Allyson Felix (Jesse Owens Olympic Spirit Award), USA sled hockey team (Paralympic Team of the Year), Tatyana McFadden (Female Paralympic Athlete of the Year) and U.S. women’s national hockey team (Olympic team of the year).