Printed on: September 07, 2013

Editor's Pick

Four are running for the Idaho Falls mayoral position.


A story we think is important or interesting that you'll enjoy reading.

Candidate filing deadline has closed for city elections.

Idaho Falls voters will have no shortage of options for a new mayor come November.

City Councilwoman Sharon Parry, Idaho Falls Police Department Officer Tim Downs, political science instructor Rebecca Casper and Mountain West Industries President Brian LaPray round out the list of prospective candidates for the city's four-year term.

Two-term Mayor Jared Fuhriman announced in February he won't seek re-election.

Candidates seeking mayoral and council positions were required to file for the positions by 5 p.m. Friday.

Three seats on the council also will be open during the November election. Dee Whittier, Alfred Higley, Paul Menser and Jill Peterson filed for the council's Seat 2 position, currently held by Kenneth Taylor. Taylor won't seek re-election.

Council President Ida Hardcastle announced she will not seek re-election after 20 years on the council. Her position, Seat 4, as well as Councilwoman Karen Cornwell's position, Seat 6, also will be open during the election.

Evan Bastow, Jilene Burger, Ed Marohn and Rachel Zaladonis will vie for Hardcastle's position.

Cornwell will seek re-election against challengers Ryan Davis and Barbara Ehardt.

In Ammon, Mayor Steve Fuhriman filed for re-election. Council President Dana Kirkham will oppose him on the ballot for the four-year term.

Open seats on the Ammon City Council include Seat 2, Seat 4 and Seat 6. Incumbents Russell Slack and Sean Coletti will run unopposed for Seat 2 and Seat 6, respectively, and Debra Woods Clapp will run unopposed for Kirkham's open position, Seat 4.

Three at-large positions are open on the Rexburg City Council. Incumbents Donna Benfield, Bruce Sutherland and Council President Christopher Mann will seek re-election. They face two other challengers: Brad Woolf and Ian Zollinger.

Blackfoot residents also will select a new mayor because two-term Mayor Mike Virtue will not run again. Rick Bigler, Dan Cravens, Paul Loomis, Carlos Martinez, John Hoobler and Carlos Mercado will vie for the position on the November ballot.

Incumbent Christopher Jensen will face Andy Hasselbring and Kenneth Ashcraft for the four-year Seat 1 position on the Blackfoot City Council.

Seat 2 candidate and incumbent Layne Gardner, Seat 3 candidate and incumbent Bart Brown and Seat 4 candidate Jan Simpson all will run unopposed for those positions.

Reporter Kirsten Johnson contributed to this report.

Reporter Christina Lords can be reached at 542-6762.