The Rigby High School FFA Chapter has been chosen to compete for a National FFA Model of Excellence Award and will send members to the national convention in Indianapolis in October.

RIGBY — The Rigby High School FFA Chapter has been chosen as a finalist to compete for a National FFA Model of Excellence award from the National FFA Organization.

Rigby was one of two Idaho FFA chapters and only four west of the Mississippi River to be named national finalists. The others were from American Falls and from Casper, Wyo., and Goldendale, Wash.

The National Chapter Award program recognizes outstanding FFA chapters from throughout the country that actively implement the mission and strategies of the organization. These chapters improve chapter operations using the National Quality FFA Chapter Standards and a Program of Activities that emphasizes growing leaders, building communities and strengthening agriculture. Chapters are rewarded for providing educational experiences for the entire membership.

High school chapters that received high three-star ratings during judging are eligible to compete for the Model of Excellence award, the highest honor awarded to a high school FFA chapter by the National FFA Organization. Ten FFA chapters will compete in a presentation and interview process for the top honor.

Additionally, Rigby FFA will have 19 members compete in three career development events and one leadership development event. Rigby will send a delegation of 21 students to the 2018 National FFA Convention & Expo that runs from Oct. 24 to 27 in Indianapolis.

Going to Indianapolis will be four teams. The conduct of chapter meetings LDE team includes Ben Wells, Brigham Nelson, Tad Nelson, Darcy Godfrey, Braden Thomas, McKay Olaveson and Madison Weiers. The farm and agribusiness management CDE team includes Alesha Kisner, Brett Warner, Abby Klukis and Tucker Lindsey. The agricultural technology and mechanical systems CDE team includes Jason Brown, Eli Gallup, Cody Cude, and Brock Godfrey. The forestry CDE team Tony Worthen, Leann Johnston, Dillon Johnson and Dalton Johnson.

Rigby FFA also had seven students who competed at the state level for agricultural proficiency awards. These awards honor FFA members who, through supervised agricultural experiences, have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers. All seven Rigby FFA members were recognized as state winners and their applications were sifted to determine a national rating of bronze, silver or gold. The top four applicants in each award area were selected as national finalists and are invited to the convention for additional interviews where the national champion will be selected.

The seven competing are:

n Alesha Kisner: Outdoor recreation placement.

n Aubrey Ann Scott: Agricultural communications placement.

n Rhett Thornley: Equine science placement.

n Brock Charles Godfrey: Agriculture mechanics design and fabrication entrepreneurship.

n Isaac Gneiting: Nursery operations placement.

n Abby Klukis: Veterinary science placement.

n Tucker Lindsey: Grain production entrepreneurship.