Wayne Butts has beem a Custer County commissioner for 15 years and is seeking re-election to a two-year term for the District 1 seat in the Nov. 6 general election.

Challis resident Jeri D’Orazio says he is running as a write-in candidate against fellow Republican Wayne Butts for the Custer County Commission District 1 position for several reasons.

October’s cooler and shorter days and rain have allowed fire managers on the Salmon-Challis National Forest to lift road and area closures for the Rabbit Foot and Prospect fires. But, the two large fires are expected to smolder until they’re buried under a blanket of snow.

The Challis cross country team traveled to Boise last weekend to compete in the Bob Firman invitational against 4,295 athletes representing 136 high schools and 61 middle schools from nine states.

A 15-passenger van may become part of the Challis schools fleet as school board members continue to search for ways to resolve the chronic school bus driver shortage.

Members of Custer County’s Concerned Citizens have asked Challis school district trustees to reconsider a plan to let the Bureau of Land Management build a parking lot and storage yard behind the middle school building on Main.

Members of the Challis and Mackay FFA chapters gathered for a bowling party and hot dogs prior to the season-opening football game for the two cross-county schools.

As a steady stream of parents dropped their children off at Challis Elementary School for the first day of school Monday, there was a trend. Students who marched into the elementary school doors or posed for photos out front for their parents had more smiles on their faces than their older c…

The last couple of weeks have been dizzying at the Challis schools as Lani Rembelski settles into her new dual role of district superintendent and elementary principal.

Several area students qualified for the honor rolls at Lewis-Clark State College in Lewiston.

Kate Taylor, the administrator for grants and special projects at the Challis Area Health Center, has earned the designation of certified medical practice executive by the American College of Medical Practice Executives.