Six Ririe wrestlers win titles at Marsh Valley; Dec. 12 wrestling roundup

At Arimo, the Ririe High School wrestling team had six individual winners at the 21-team Marsh Valley Tournament on Saturday.

The defending 2A state champions also had four other wrestlers with top-three finishes.

Some of the weight classes were split into A and B brackets.

Five Bulldogs went undefeated. Patrick Anderson and Zach Anderson each went 7-0 to win the 138B and 170 titles, respectively, while Call Nelson went 6-0 to win the 145B title. Ririe also got 4-0 performances from Rustin Rinderknecht (120A champion) and Tyler Criddle (126B champion). Cory Anderson, who won the 126A title, went 401.

Second-place medalists for the Bulldogs were Reagan Thacker, who went 4-1 in 132B, and Kolton Borresen. who went 2-2 to place second in 182B. Michael Stevenson and Collin Fogg each went 5-2 to place third in 152 and 285, respectively. Eric Peterson, who was wrestling in the 138B bracket for Ririe, was injured in the second round.

Shelley had four top three-placers, including three individual champions. Austin Betzer went 6-0 to win 160, Jason Burton went 7-0 to win 195, Diego Pena went 4-1 to win 182A and Braxton Balmforth went 4-1 to place third in 126A.

Blackfoot had three top-three placers, led by Trevor Monson’s 98-pound championship after a 3-0 performance. Austin Worthington went 4-3 to place third in 145 and Jordan Pulido went 2-2 to place third in 182B.

Camerson Surerus and Audrec Reid each placed second for Firth. Surerus went 5-2 at 195 and Reid went 6-1 at 220.

Whitehall (Mont.) Tournament


103 pounds: Jacob Pilgrim (North Fremont) by forfeit; 120: Curtis Schneider (Huntley Project) pin Ross Wynn, 3:38; 126: Jack Wynn (North Fremont) by forfeit; 138: Garrett Smith (Huntley Project) pin Oscar Altamirano, 3:37; 145: Toni Lazano (North Fremont) pin Colby Twitchell, 0:27; 152: Henry Cook (Huntley Project) pin Daniel Hilder, 1:51: 160: Rhet Clark (North Fremont) pin Chase Nelson, 0:39; 170: Justin Kickerbocker (Huntley Project) by forfeit; 182: Jordan Sharp (North Fremont) pin Tanner Geiss, 0:38; 205: Gaven Baum (North Fremont) by forfeit; 285: Trey Cupleand (Huntley Project) by forfeit


103: Jacob Pilgrim (North Fremont) by forfeit; 113: Ross Wynn (North Fremont) pin Anthony Eirvin, 0:58; 120: Brock Johnson (Whitehall) by forfeit; 126: Connor Johnson (Whitehall) pin Jack Wynn, 0:45; 132: Oscar Altamirano (North Fremont) by forfeit; 138: Braxton Armstrong (Whitehall) pin Toni Lazano, 1:14; 145: Daniel Hilder (North Fremont) by forfeit; 152: Devin Rowe (Whitehall) by forfeit; 160: double forfeit; 170: Rhet Clark (North Fremont) pin Adrien Bright, 0:34; 182: Jordan Sharp (North Fremont) pin Kayden Howser, 0:20; 205: Dillon Hoerauf (Whitehall) pin Gaven Baum, 0:23; 285: Dawson Hoerauf (Whitehall) by forfeit